Sputnik gives you the chance to investigate information that interactively explains and depicts all of the most recent developments

What Are Non-Self-Governing Territories & Who Governs Them?

This year, May 25-31 marks the International Week of Solidarity with the Peoples of Non-Self-Governing Territories (NSGTs), established by the UN in 1999 to highlight the continuing struggle of those living in such lands and promote self-determination rights.
The United Nations Charter defines a Non-Self-Governing Territory as one "whose people have not yet attained a full measure of self-government," with the countries in control known as the administering Powers.
In 1946, a number of UN Member States jointly listed territories under their administration that were not self-governing. While since then, most of the mentioned territories have acquired self-governance, the list still includes 17 items, with the UK, the US, France and New Zealand being the administering powers of such territories.
A total of 1,724,029 people currently lives in NSGTs, according to the latest UN data.